UFCW Local 1459 Executive Board

Local 1459 is run by an elected Executive Board. The Executive Board is comprised of officers who meet on a monthly basis to approve finances, accept new members, discuss local business and determine activities. These officers are full-time representatives and rank and file members who work in the various locations. The entire Executive Board meeting is recorded and the minutes are read and approved or disapproved by the general membership at regular quarterly meetings.

The daily operations of the local union are conducted by the President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Union Representatives. Additionally, Local 1459 has a Stewards program which provides on the job assistance and advice through qualified stewards. These stewards are trained in contract enforcement and grievance handling.

The International Union (UFCW) also has a democratic structure. Every five years, UFCW locals elect delegates and send them to the international convention to elect international officers and vote on the international constitution.

Executive Board Members

Nathan Bean – Chicopee Labor

Dean Ethier – Secretary/Treasurer

Taunette Greene – Stop & Shop #0045

Jeff Jones – President

Ian Kelly – River Valley Market

Cheryl Moore – VATCO

Clifford Nurse – First Student Bus

Cynthia Rhodes – Amherst Cafe

Sue Seitz – Stop & Shop #0036

Matt Szulborski – Executive Vice President

Virgil Wetmore – Franklin Co-Op